Category: Free Sample Activities

The One and Only Bob Teaching Ideas

Teaching Activities for The One and Only Bob including Free Novel Study Samples and Game Activities

Fans of The One and Only Ivan are going to be thrilled with its sequel. Ivan’s lovable friend narrates the story in The One and Only Bob.

Novel Summary

At the zoo, Bob visits with Ivan and Ruby when a terrible storm quickly blows in. Bob ends up inside a tornado. He flies across the zoo and lands in the giraffe cage. As he makes his way back to Ivan and Ruby, he comes across several zoo animals that need help. At one point, he helps a baby sloth get back to her family. He also passes the wolf den and sees Kimu in a dazed state.  Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=8390

Free Materials for Distance Learning

28 Free Resources for Distance Learning

Distance Learning – For the teacher this is expensive, time consuming, and frustrating. Did I say expensive? YES! Because of this, I pulled together a group of free resources that can be used during this tough time. You’ll find everything here: math, language arts, Google Slides and Boom Learning.

First things first. Here is a little bit about the programs. Specific materials follow the program descriptions. Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=8303

Teaching Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Teaching Activities

Who doesn’t love Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone? With likable characters, magical events, scary moments, and humor, the novel is a hit. In fact, it has sold over 120 million copies making it one of the best sellers of all time!

Summary

Shortly before Harry’s eleventh birthday, letters begin flooding into the Dursley’s home addressed to Harry. Mr. Dursley does everything he can to keep Harry from getting one of the letters. He even takes his family and flees to a secluded island on the eve of Harry’s eleventh birthday. At midnight, someone bangs on the door. Hagrid enters and personally gives Harry a letter. The letter is an invitation for Harry to attend Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=8272

The Bridge Home Teaching Ideas

The Bridge Home Teaching Activities

Are you looking for a great novel to read with your students? The Bridge Home by Padma Venkatraman is a great choice.  

With its empowering story, positive message, and captivating plot, The Bridge Home is a a perfect classroom read aloud or book club novel. Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=8258

Hatchet by Gary Paulsen Teaching Ideas

Activities to do with the Novel Hatchet

Are you looking for a great novel to read with your students? Hatchet by Gary Paulsen is a winner. At the end of each school year, I have my students do a survey called The Top Five. Students list their top favorites or dislikes depending on the questions…What are your top favorite projects?…Which activities did you enjoy the most or the least?…I always include the question…List your top five favorite novels of the school year. Hatchet is always in the top five and averages number 1 in most classes.

So, why do students love Hatchet? Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=8214

Miyako and The Monster Under My Bed

Teaching Reading and Writing with Animated Short Films - FREE Activities

The two animated short films, Miyako and The Monster Under My Bed, both tell of young girls with monsters under their beds. The two shorts are great for teaching compare and contrast.  Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=7754

Allies by Alan Gratz

Allies by Alan Gratz

Did you love Alan Gratz’s novel Refugee?  He writes another winner with his newest book Allies. In this book, Gratz tells six separate stories following six different D-Day operations through six different perspectives. If you are looking for a novel your students will love, look no further.

Operation Neptune  – Dee

Sid and Dee arrive at Omaha Beach. As soon as the door to the Higgins boat opens, German machine guns blast the soldiers. When Dee gets out of the boat, he realizes they are in deep water. Sergeant Taylor yells for help because he can’t swim. Dee goes to help him. By the time the two reach shore, Taylor has died from a gunshot wound in Dee’s arms… Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=7999