Category: Free Sample Activities

I Survived the California Wildfires, 2018

I Survived the California Wildfires, 2018

Lauren Tarshis delivers once again with a hit your students are sure to love. I Survived the California Wildfires, 2018 contains breath holding moments, likable characters, and a recent disaster that your students will remember from the news.

The Story

Mom and Josh take a trip to Northern California to visit cousins. Josh later learns the trip is to get him away from television and cell service, so he can’t see his dad’s trial. On the day Mom and Josh are to head home, Josh sees Aunt Nicole’s laptop and decides to check out the Yankee scores. Josh discovers an article from the New York Times that says his dad is going to prison for eight months. Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=4014

Oxymoron Definition, Examples, and Lesson

This figurative language lesson on oxymoron includes a free organizer and digital resource. 4th, 5th, and 6th graders will love these fun activities. This lesson covers the definition with examples appropriate for upper elementary students.

Oxymoron is a figure of speech which contains words that seem conflicting to one another. Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=8425

The One and Only Bob Teaching Ideas

Teaching Activities for The One and Only Bob including Free Novel Study Samples and Game Activities

Fans of The One and Only Ivan are going to be thrilled with its sequel. Ivan’s lovable friend narrates the story in The One and Only Bob.

Novel Summary

At the zoo, Bob visits with Ivan and Ruby when a terrible storm quickly blows in. Bob ends up inside a tornado. He flies across the zoo and lands in the giraffe cage. As he makes his way back to Ivan and Ruby, he comes across several zoo animals that need help. At one point, he helps a baby sloth get back to her family. He also passes the wolf den and sees Kimu in a dazed state.  Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=8390

Free Materials for Distance Learning

28 Free Resources for Distance Learning

Distance Learning – For the teacher this is expensive, time consuming, and frustrating. Did I say expensive? YES! Because of this, I pulled together a group of free resources that can be used during this tough time. You’ll find everything here: math, language arts, Google Slides and Boom Learning.

First things first. Here is a little bit about the programs. Specific materials follow the program descriptions. Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=8303

Teaching Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Teaching Activities

Who doesn’t love Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone? With likable characters, magical events, scary moments, and humor, the novel is a hit. In fact, it has sold over 120 million copies making it one of the best sellers of all time!

Summary

Shortly before Harry’s eleventh birthday, letters begin flooding into the Dursley’s home addressed to Harry. Mr. Dursley does everything he can to keep Harry from getting one of the letters. He even takes his family and flees to a secluded island on the eve of Harry’s eleventh birthday. At midnight, someone bangs on the door. Hagrid enters and personally gives Harry a letter. The letter is an invitation for Harry to attend Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=8272

The Bridge Home Teaching Ideas

The Bridge Home Teaching Activities

Are you looking for a great novel to read with your students? The Bridge Home by Padma Venkatraman is a great choice.  

With its empowering story, positive message, and captivating plot, The Bridge Home is a a perfect classroom read aloud or book club novel. Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=8258

Hatchet by Gary Paulsen Teaching Ideas

Activities to do with the Novel Hatchet

Are you looking for a great novel to read with your students? Hatchet by Gary Paulsen is a winner. At the end of each school year, I have my students do a survey called The Top Five. Students list their top favorites or dislikes depending on the questions…What are your top favorite projects?…Which activities did you enjoy the most or the least?…I always include the question…List your top five favorite novels of the school year. Hatchet is always in the top five and averages number 1 in most classes.

So, why do students love Hatchet? Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=8214