Category: Book Units

There’s a Boy in the Girls’ Bathroom

There's a Boy in the Girls' Bathroom

I love books about kids who turn their lives around. That is the main theme of There’s a Boy in the Girls’ Bathroom. The story begins withBradley Chalkers,  the oldest student in 5th grade because he repeated 4th. He is known by all students and teachers as the biggest bully in the school. Bradley sits in the last row, last seat of Mrs. Ebbel’s class, so he won’t disturb the other students. He spends his time cutting paper and scribbling on his assignments.

Book Summary

Jeff Fishkin

A new student, Jeff Fishkin, moves to Red Hill School from Washington, DC. He is assigned the seat next to Bradley because all the others are full. Bradley begins a relationship with Jeff by first taking a dollar from him and later saying he will give him a dollar if he will be his friend. Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=85

Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes

Sadako and the Thousand Paper Crandes Teaching Activities

Your students are going to love these Sadako and a Thousand Paper Cranes activities!

Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes Summary

The atom bomb dropped on Hiroshima, Japan on August 6, 1945. At this time, Sadako was two years old. The story begins eleven years later. Sadako wakes up energetic and excited because she enjoys the celebrations of Peace Day. Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=3310

Teaching Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing

Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing Teaching Ideas and Free Book Unit Samples

Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing will have your students rolling with laughter. The story tells about Peter Hatcher who lives close to Central Park in New York City with his parents and younger brother Fudge. The novel centers around the events that take place during Peter’s fourth grade year. Most of Peter’s problems are due to the misbehavior of Peter’s 2-3 year old brother. Chapters in the novel are individual episodes of Peter’s life.

Summaries of the First Chapters

Peter goes to his best friend’s birthday party and wins a small turtle by guessing the closest number of jelly beans in the jar. Peter is super excited with his new pet and names the turtle Dribble. Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=7690

Wayside School Beneath the Cloud of Doom

Wayside School Beneath the Cloud of Doom Free Novel Study Samples

Wayside School Beneath the Cloud of Doom is a novel about the students in Mrs. Jewls’s class. Her classroom is on the top floor of an unusual school that is 30 stories high with one classroom on each floor. Several plots arise featuring the students of this class.

Here are a few subplots to pique your interest. Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=317

I Survived the California Wildfires, 2018

I Survived the California Wildfires, 2018

Lauren Tarshis delivers once again with a hit your students are sure to love. I Survived the California Wildfires, 2018 contains breath holding moments, likable characters, and a recent disaster that your students will remember from the news.

The Story

Mom and Josh take a trip to Northern California to visit cousins. Josh later learns the trip is to get him away from television and cell service, so he can’t see his dad’s trial. On the day Mom and Josh are to head home, Josh sees Aunt Nicole’s laptop and decides to check out the Yankee scores. Josh discovers an article from the New York Times that says his dad is going to prison for eight months. Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=4014

The One and Only Bob Teaching Ideas

Teaching Activities for The One and Only Bob including Free Novel Study Samples and Game Activities

Fans of The One and Only Ivan are going to be thrilled with its sequel. Ivan’s lovable friend narrates the story in The One and Only Bob.

Novel Summary

At the zoo, Bob visits with Ivan and Ruby when a terrible storm quickly blows in. Bob ends up inside a tornado. He flies across the zoo and lands in the giraffe cage. As he makes his way back to Ivan and Ruby, he comes across several zoo animals that need help. At one point, he helps a baby sloth get back to her family. He also passes the wolf den and sees Kimu in a dazed state.  Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=8390

Free Materials for Distance Learning

28 Free Resources for Distance Learning

Distance Learning – For the teacher this is expensive, time consuming, and frustrating. Did I say expensive? YES! Because of this, I pulled together a group of free resources that can be used during this tough time. You’ll find everything here: math, language arts, Google Slides and Boom Learning.

First things first. Here is a little bit about the programs. Specific materials follow the program descriptions. Continue Reading

Permanent link to this article: https://bookunitsteacher.com/wp/?p=8303