The Dark is Rising

by Susan Cooper



The Dark is Rising is an exceptional contemporary fantasy on the Common Core Standards Grades 6-8 Exemplars List. The novel tells the story of Will Stanton who on his eleventh birthday learns he is one of the Old Ones who is destined to save the world from the Dark. Will must collect six Signs and join them together before the Dark destroys Earth. Read The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper to see if Will can defeat the Dark.


Sample Vocabulary Practice


Sample Multiple Choice Comprehension &  Constructive Response Questions for Part One:  The Finding  Chapter 2 Midwinter Day

Skill Lessons

Lesson 2 - Inference, Drawing Conclusions, & Predictions

Bulletin Boards

Reading Makes You Bright

Multiple Meaning Words

Paper Bag Project



You can purchase the full
The Dark is Rising Book Unit

on Teachers Pay Teachers.